New Mexico Boys Cross Country Countdown: #7 Rio Rancho

The New Mexico Cross Country Countdown breaks down the top 25 New Mexico boys and girls teams returning this fall. These rankings will include projected top runners and weighing how each team may do in their respective districts and state competitions. Changes to class alignments and adaptions to the state championship format have been taken into consideration. These rankings are based on past two seasons of performances and do not include teams that did not compete last year due to a lack of athletes and team information. All top returning runners are only projections and may include athletes no longer on the team due to transfer or out-of-state relocation.

#7 Rio Rancho Rams

If there were any other team with as many unknowns going into this season they certainly would not be ranked #7, yet here are the Rio Rancho Rams. Yes, senior Dawson Gunn who finished 7th in 5A is the lone returning state runner from last year's team. Yet with a practically brand new varsity, they remain one of the best teams that we can expect to compete for the state championship. Might we see some youngsters step up like sophomore Skyler Galbraith, freshmen Cody Sullivan and we would also welcome some upperclassmen in Mason Steel and Nathaniel Martinez-Crook. All four of these potential newcomers have personal bests in the 18-minute range which is better than practically any other school on this list. Also if we follow seasons past we know that the Rams tend to eat their Wheaties and get in those hill repeats to show up with huge improvements between seasons. Gunn is coming off a stellar track season that included a 5A 1600m state title but will need his fair share of help from the remaining six if they would like to get back to the podium in November.

5A Boys

2020 State Finish: 2nd

State Titles: 2013, 2014

Individual State Champions: 0

2021 Rio Rancho Rankings

New Mexico Ranking7th
5A Ranking3rd
District 1-5A Ranking3rd

Top Returning Runners

NameGradePersonal Best (5K)Best State Finish

Dawson Gunn


Skyler Galbraith


Cody Sullivan


Mason Steel


Nathaniel Martinez-Crook