NMAA State Cross Country Championship Preview: A/2A Girls

Maggie Rittmeyer (photo by Jaren Brooks)

One of the best matchups in the state is back

Academy for Tech and the Classics will be looking to defend its state championship against a competitive Pecos squad on Friday. This should come as no surprise with these two teams scoring under 40 points as the 3rd place Penasco came in with 116 points. Rehoboth Christian will seek a solid finish. We haven't been able to see much from these teams as the majority of schools didn't begin competition until a week prior to district meets but using what we know from 2019, it's likely to be plenty of opportunities as some teams either did not qualify or had opted out completely. Notable teams not competing include MaxwellMcCurdy NACA, Jemez Valley, and Laguna Acoma


Well to see someone other than an ATC or Pecos uniform would be surprising, to say the least as eight of the top ten finishers in 2019 hailed from one of those schools. Maggie Rittmeyer is the defending individual champion while Vanessa Dominquez and little sister Lily Rittmeyer are just as capable of taking over the race. Notably missing from the district meet roster were ATC's Kamyrn Hoehne and Noelani Van Loon who were the 4 and 5 finishers last championship. Pecos' Savanna Ortiz is in the mix and if you're looking for the first girl, not from either one of those schools, Capitan's Kalynn Bowser was 7th and could break through this pack of talented girls from A/2A.

A/2A State Entries

Teams Individual Qualifiers

Academy for Tech and the Classics

Jayde Perea Estancia


Mariana Perea Estancia


Amaris McClain Legacy Academy

Gateway Christian

Mckayla McCann Menaul


Teddileigh Chavez Mescalero


Danae Grant Mescalero


Julene Valdez Mescalero


Charnelle Gonzales Penasco

Santa Rosa 

Tylaine Edsitty Pine Hill

Kiari Etsitty Pine Hill
Emily Garcia Rehoboth Christian


March 26th11:30 a.m.3A Boys
March 26thNoon3A Girls
March 26th2 p.m.4A Boys
March 26th2:30 p.m.4A Girls
March 26th4:30 p.m.A-2A Boys
March 26th5 p.m.A-2A Girls
March 27thNoon5A Boys
March 27th12:30 p.m.5A Girls

Awards will be awarded immediately after each race.