NMAA State Cross Country Championship Preview: A/2A Boys

Micah Tsosie (photo by Jaren Brooks)

DATE - March 26 - 27, 2021

Boys: A/2A Rankings I 3A Rankings I 4A Rankings I 5A Rankings

Meet Previews 

Boys: A/2A I 3A I 4A I 5A

Girls: A/2A I 3A I 4A I 5A 

Cloudcroft returns talent galore

With few meets and a plethora of opt-outs for this country season, only one team, in particular, stands out as a definitive favorite entering the state A/2A boys Cross Country Championships. Cloudcroft was a team that was favored entering the season last August when there were still glimpses of hope for a fall season to take place. Fast forward to March 2021 and the season appears to finally have a finale insight and the Bears are poised for their first blue trophy. Cloudcroft's 2019 season ended with stellar runner-up honors as the Senior heavy Navajo Pine was just too good eclipse. Forward to 2020, It doesn't look like anyone will be returning a squad as good as the Bears.  Legacy Academy a squad that finished 18th as a team in 2019 has been able to get some quality races in. Notable teams not competing include Maxwell, McCurdy NACA, Jemez Valley, and Laguna Acoma


Max Preslar is the highest returning state finisher from his 3rd place in 2019 as he chased down a dynamic duo in Galvin Curley and Michael Marshall of Navajo Pine. Preslar is now the guy with the target on his back as he is the only sub 18:00 runner thus far in the season. Keeping him company are teammates Max Siedel and Mike Ersinghaus who will be seeking their first top 10 finishes. Quemado boasts a talented Noah Bugayong sitting in 2nd place in the A/2A boys rankings and Rehoboth Christian's Pete Garcia will be someone who could well be in the mix. Micah Tsosie of Navajo Pine will be hoping to continue the trend of the championship running as he enters as the top man and only returner from the 2019 team. 

A/2A State Qualifiers 

Teams Individual Qualifiers


Joey Gurule ATC


Rocky Miller ATC


Devlyn Scott Capitan

Legacy Academy

Raul Garcia Estancia


Luke Guinn Jal

Mesa Vista

Lorenzo Soliz Jal


Kolby Taylor Jal


Chance Chee Mescalero


William Old Chief Mescalero


Micah Tsosie Navajo Pine

Gilly Valdez Penasco

Nunez Eriacho Pine Hill

Callin Martine Pine Hill

Juaquin Baca Santa Rosa

Santiago Pacheco Santa Rosa


March 26th11:30 a.m.3A Boys
March 26thNoon3A Girls
March 26th2 p.m.4A Boys
March 26th2:30 p.m.4A Girls
March 26th4:30 p.m.A-2A Boys
March 26th5 p.m.A-2A Girls
March 27thNoon5A Boys
March 27th12:30 p.m.5A Girls

Awards will be awarded immediately after each race.