New Mexico Girls Cross Country Countdown: #20 Albuquerque

New Mexico Cross Country Countdown Series

The New Mexico Cross Country Countdown breaks down the top 25 New Mexico boys and girls teams returning this fall. These rankings will include projected top runners and weigh how each team may do in their respective districts and state competitions. Changes to class alignments and adaptions to the state championship format have been taken into consideration. These rankings are based on the past season of performances. All top returning runners are only projections and may include athletes no longer on the team due to transfer or out-of-state relocation.

#20 Albuquerque Bulldogs

There is no denying that Albuquerque high consists of the best pair of All-State performers with Daniela Figueroa (2nd in 2021) and Ava Stratton (3rd in 2021). Those two were monumental in ensuring the Bulldogs landed in the top 10 at the 5A State meet and if they have a chance at once again returning to a solid finish in 2022 it will be on the shoulders of Figueroa and Stratton. Solana Pearl (52nd in 2021) is the only returner from that meet and will also be relied upon to score vital points. Likely newcomers to their varsity ranks include Dylan LuksikAmaranta Manzanares-JuarezBeatrice Appleton, and Marlo Caristo. They may see a challenge among district 3-5A schools like Santa Fe or Los Lunas before setting their sights on the rest of 5A. We can expect stiff competition from other 5A schools in district 1-5A and Alamogordo from down south. Albuquerque High will be once again competitive as they find their way to fill new varsity roles with reliable newcomers in 2022. 

5A Girls

2021 State Finish: 6th

State Titles: None

Individual State Titles: None

2022 Albuquerque Rankings

New Mexico Ranking #20
5A Ranking#11
District 3-5A Ranking#1

Top Returning Runners

NameGradePersonal Best (5K)Best State Finish

Daniela Figueroa

So18:352nd (2021)

Ava Stratton

Sr19:163rd (2021)

Solana Pearl

Jr23:0852nd (2021)

Dylan Luksik


Amaranta Manzanares-Juarez


Beatrice Appleton


Marlo Caristo


Watch the 2021 5A State Championship Race