Rio Rancho Jamboree Preview

19th Rio Rancho Jamboree takes center stage this week

Rio Rancho Jamboree Central

Be sure to check out the schedule of races, virtual meets for each race down below and also a look at the top times ran at each Rio Rancho Jamboree for the past decade. 

The Rio Rancho Jamboree has been the largest invitational in the state of New Mexico since 2005 when the site of the NMAA State Cross Country Championships was moved from Gallup to Rio Rancho. Since 2005 the meet has grown from 32 schools to 101 schools that are participating this week. Because it is the site of the NMAA State Championships the Rio Rancho Jamboree serves as a preview for most of the class team and individual championships that will be contested in November.


The current Rio Rancho High School cross country course has been unchanged since 2013 when the solar array was installed that summer. That led to the name change of that particular hill from "Depression" to "Solar Hill". While "Solar Hill" is the new hill on the course, "Deception" (the snake-like and sandy hill just past the mile point) is probably the most memorable part of the course. The hill is 275 meters long and at about 250 it gives the false impression that it is over (hence the deception). 

With nearly 100 schools set to line the start on saturday, this is the premier cross country meet in New Mexico. Acting as the best opportunity to compete at Rio Rancho course prior to State Championships in November. A perfect course to compete against the majority of the entire state schools while testing the limits on a course that offers perhaps the biggest hill of any other meet in our state.

On the boys side, The Championship boy's races will include individual front runners like Cloudcroft's Max Preslar, Hope Christian's Eric Scharton, Piedra Vista's Triston Charles, La Cueva's Stevie Salas to name a few.  With Albuquerque Academy and Los Alamos practically the only teams not competing at Jamboree this weekend, Sue Cleveland will be the team to beat alongside Onate and Piedra Vista will also challenge for team title. 28 schools set to line the course for the championship race including 3 Arizona powerhouses in Monument Valley, Page and Window Rock. 

The large schools boys race 

Atrisco Heritage Academy is the clear favorite in the large schools race while Bloomfield, Taos and West Mesa will be looking to stay in contention. The Individual race will consist of Mayfield's Nick Yacone who has what it takes to win the Championship boys race will undoubtedly be the favorite. Other runners to watch out for includes Atrisco Heritage's Josh Lara and Cameron Shorty along with West Mesa's Joseph Giron and Taos' Eddie Duran.

small school boys race

Arizona schools Alchesay and Many farms will look to take the top 2 spots in the small schools race. For the New Mexico schools, Del Norte and Cimarron have the best chance at competing for good team finishes. Individually, Alchesay's Cedrick Tessay enters as the only boy in the race having broke 17 minute barrier and will be challenged by West Las Vegas' Jarred Baca, Many Farms Quintyler Yazzie and Del Norte's Brian Howe and Cruz Silva.

On the girls side, the championship race will include dominant performers Sue Cleveland's Leah Futey, Eldorado's Jasmine Turtle-Morales, Kirtland Central's Aisha Ramone, Albuquerque high's Emily Schoellkopf and Volcano Vista's Isabella Schrader. Eldorado holds a convincing lead over Rio Rancho, Sue Cleveland and La Cueva at the moment. However, the Rams running on their home course is an advantage that could play a role in who takes the girls championship race. 

The large school girls race

Cibola, Los Lunas, and Manzano all have a chance at taking home a victory in the large school girls race. Cibola will have the edge if they can land Lana Reid and Alicia Valdez in the top 5. Atrisco's Marissa Gallegos is the favorite being the only runner to have broken 20 minute barrier among the field. Other runners in contention include Los Lunas' Amanda Sparks, Highland's Aelea Thomas and Manzano's Abigail Clarke.

small school girls race

Arizona schools Alchesay and Many Farms will look to challenge Laguna Acoma for the top of the small girls race. Individually leading the field should be Sidney Cheromiah  of Laguna Acoma with Sandia Prep's Skylar Gee, Gateway Christian's Sarah Lilley and Alchesay's Tristin Reidhead following chase. 

Weather Forecast 

Runners will take on sunny but brisk temps as its expected to be in the mid 40's to start the Championship girls race. 

Be sure to check out the schedule of races, virtual meets for each race down below and also a look at the top times ran at each Rio Rancho Jamboree for the past decade. 

Schedule of Races:


7:00am:   Packet Pick-up Begins (in front of Football Field House)

8:00am:   C-Teams, Girls and Boys Combined

9:00am:   Championship Division Girls 

9:30am:   Large School Varsity Division Girls 

10:00am: Small School Varsity Division Girls 

10:30am: Championship Division Boys 

11:00am: Large School Varsity Division Boys 

11:30am: Small School Varsity Division Boys 

12:00pm: Boys JV All Divisions

12:30pm: Girls JV All Divisions